About Me

Hello! I am a 31 year old from the beautiful Midwest and live at home with my parents and sister, Leah, on our three and a half acres in Missouri which is also the residence of a flock of laying hens, a growing apiary, a dog, rabbits, and a small herd of Boer goats. 

With all of this, and as my interests are many and varied, there never seems to be a dull moment around here!

First and foremost, what is most important to me is my relationship with my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. My heart's desire is to love and serve Him with all of my heart, to seek to grow in Him and walk in obedience to His word, and to serve in whatever ways and means that He would have me.

After my relationship with the Lord, family is what is most important to me, and one of my favorite things to do is to spend time with them! We always have such fun and wonderful times together. Some things that we enjoy as a family are working on different projects (such as gardening and construction), studying Scripture together, going for walks or hikes, bird-watching, and more.

Reading and studying Scripture is something that I love, as well as discussing scriptural topics with others. I also love to do just about anything with homemaking such as cooking, baking, organizing and even cleaning! Enjoying time in God's creation is another favorite of mine whether it be hiking, working in the gardens, driving through the countryside, or simply enjoying a quiet, peaceful evening walk around our place.

During much of the year, I volunteer weekly at a therapeutic riding center which works with children and adults with special needs. I so love doing this and working with and helping each of 'my' riders! 


Regularly playing the piano and singing at a local nursing home is also something I love. It is a joy to develop relationships with the special people there, to share about the Lord and the gospel, and to talk with them and give them a listening ear.


I am so thankful for the life the Lord has blessed me with . . . daily enjoying the beauty of His creation on the little farm my family and I are slowly building together (which has been an adventure and a challenge at times since we have such a small acreage!), tending to our large vegetable garden and preserving and canning the abundant produce, the joy that comes in working together and working towards common goals, being able to enjoy many different homemaking arts such as quilting, crocheting and sewing to name a few.

Other things that make me happy are . . .

~ Playing the hammered dulcimer, fiddle and piano (I love music!)

~ Listening to the birds singing and trying to identify what kinds they are

~ Hanging laundry on the line

~ Crickets chirping and frogs 'singing' in the cool of the evening

~ Having deep and thought-provoking conversations

~ Books that encourage and convict me in my walk with the Lord

~ A long line of freshly canned jars full of bounty from the garden

~ Having my hands busy with handwork such as quilting or crochet

~ Sitting underneath the trees on the grass reading

~ Antiques . . . especially ones that were part of the farm and home lifestyle 

~ Pleasant evenings with all of us gathered together in the living room

~ Target shooting with my Dad

~ Singing with my sister while we're washing dishes (especially when Mom accompanies on the piano!)

~ Fresh baked whole wheat bread cooling on the counter

~ Bouquets of wildflowers - especially ones given from little hands :)

~ And much more!

I also have an all natural bath and body business - Niobrara Farms Bath and Body - for products that I make such as goat milk soaps, lip balms, and more (and also have an Etsy store for it as well.)

So that's me in a nutshell. :) And thank you for stopping by! I always enjoy meeting those reading my blog so if you'd like, please feel free to send me a note!  

~Sarah